Student Government

All undergraduate students are members of the Rice Student Association (SA), which is governed through the Student Senate. The senate includes the president, two vice presidents, the secretary, the treasurer, the eleven college presidents, and eleven college senators. Each year committees are appointed within the SA to work on immediate projects. The SA strives to communicate with the Rice administration, faculty, and staff to implement changes benefiting the Rice community and to collaborate with the eleven colleges to establish a Rice identity. The SA is also the umbrella organization for all registered undergraduate student clubs and is a constant resource for any student. Please visit the Rice Student Association (SA) website for more information about the SA.

Award Presentations

The Rice Student Association presents three coveted awards annually, two to students and one to a faculty or staff member. The Rice Outstanding Senior Awards are presented to graduating seniors who have contributed the most to excellence throughout their time at Rice. The Rice Service Award, a memorial to Hugh Scott Cameron, first dean of students at Rice, is awarded to students who have rendered distinguished service to the student body. The Mentor Recognition Award recognizes extraordinary service to the student body by a current member of the faculty or staff. Student committees appointed by the association make the selections.